Problem Solving Strategies

The problem solving topic presented this week was really motivating for me. I’ve always wanted to develop an innovative, environmentally friendly product and work for my own start up, but never believed I had enough ‘creativity’ to do this, hence why I am undertaking this unit. So when genius was described as being 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration, it was really comforting for me.

I now see how my experience in both the environmental and business fields can have much more of an impact on my ability to develop an innovative and successful product or business model, than pure inspiration and creative ideas. With the right knowledge, experience and problem solving outlook, there is still hope for me to achieve my career dreams. From this week I am going to aim to look at the wicked problem of climate change with a more critical, problem solving outlook, using the strategies explored like SCAMPER and TRIZ.

Leave a comment